After their initial foray into Speedway sponsorship last season with the Speedcar Association of South Australia, Middy’s Data & Electrical has confirmed that will return once again this season as the naming rights sponsor of the Speedcar Slam Series that will kick off at the Murray Bridge Speedway on October 20, 2012. The Murray Bridge event will be the first of six rounds and it has attracted a line-up of 11 competitors but it is hoped a couple more drivers may join the field before the official nominations close.

Leading the entry list is last season’s Series Champion Ben Dillon who will once again pilot his potent #9 Ed Pink Breka but he will have some strong competition from the likes of former Australian Formula 500 Champion Brock Hallett and second season racer Todd Bennett, both of whom have already had three early season hit outs at the Murray Bridge venue.

The field will also include exciting youngster Ben Hall, who will be returning to the driver’s seat for the first time following an injury he sustained in a wild ride last season, the ever consistent Darryl Knuckey, former V6 Sprint (Lightning Sprints) State Champion Nathan Squiers, who has just installed a Gaetre / Ford into his Aggressor chassis, and Alex Fletcher

Another driver who will be keen to impress on October 20 will be Strathalbyn pilot Jamie Crouch, who last weekend looked very impressive at the opening night event of the year after excessive oil pressure kept him out of action at the pre-season day show in late September. The remaining South Australian entries include Mark Harrington, who is returning to Speedcar competition after a lengthy break, Norm Moore and Rory Gilbert.

Currently the only confirmed interstate nomination is that of Andy Pearce although the current South Australian Champion and last season’s series runner-up Travis Mills, from Echuca, is still considered an outside chance to be in the pit area at round 1.

Round 2 of the Middy’s Data & Electrical Speedcar Slam will also be held at the Murray Bridge Speedway on December 8 when it is run in conjunction with the prestigious Tim Crouch Memorial. The remaining rounds of Speedcar Slam will be contested at the Riverland Speedway at Renmark on March 9 before a double header at Murray Bridge and Speedway City on March 30 and 31. The Grand Final will be staged at the Borderline Speedway at Mount Gambier with a dual sanctioned event (SA and Victorian Clubs) featuring the best local drivers taking on the Victorians.

In addition to MIDDY’S DATA & ELECTRICAL the Speedcar Association of SA would like to thank the following associate sponsors:

Dave Baines from BAINES ENGINES, Phil Weeks from RAGE ENGINEERING, Tony Messercola from AMPAC, Darren Disbury from THURSDAY THUNDER, Phil Lonsdale from HOOSIER TIRES SA, David Grose from HOOLAGATORS, Steve Dillon from DILLON BULK HAULAGE, Shane Collins from SPEEDWAY AUSTRALIA, Peter Ghent from GHENT AUTOMOTIVE, Paul Collins from LOANAVE and Peter Brunnthaler from ULX 110 Oil.

To find out more about MIDDY’S DATA & ELECTRICAL please visit

Release By:
Phil Michell Motorsport Media (SA): 0438 850 919.

MIDDY'S Speedcar Slam Begins on October 20