• Alison Dwyer

Speedcar & Formula 500 Double Header Highlighted by Tim Crouch Memorial

This weekend the Speedcars and the Formula 500’s will feature in a huge two night extravaganza as the Tolmer Speedway in Bordertown and the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway team up to host the Carline Speedcar Pro Series and two of the most prestigious Formula 500 races South Australia has to offer.

Friday night will see the Speedcar Pro Series visit the Tomer Speedway for the first time for round 6 of the national series while it will be Murray Bridge’s turn on Saturday night as over 20 drivers from across Australia contest the Tim Crouch Memorial, which will double as round 7.

Last Saturday night saw the Pro Series roll into Adelaide with Western Australian Todd Wadell claiming the A-main victory and he will go into this weekend full of confidence having raced at both venues earlier this year. He will be joined by his team mate mark Brown, from New South Wales, who won events at both venues last season, including the South Australian Championship at Murray Bridge in April.

In addition to the drivers listed above the star studded line-up for both events includes a host of the best drivers in Australia including current series points leader Dayne Kingshott (WA), who also emerged as the series Champion last season, defending Tim Crouch Memorial Champion Lee Redmond (WA) (pictured), former Australian Champion Neville Lance (WA), former South Australian Champion Lee Dillon, current Speedcar Super Series Champion Brett Thomas and last Saturday night’s runner-up Brock Hallett.

The open wheeled action will also include one of the biggest fields of Formula 500’s seen in South Australia for several seasons as the 7th Annual “King of the Bridge” is contested at Murray Bridge. Currently the nomination list consists of over 30 drivers from across South Australia, Victoria and Western Australia. The 360 metre Murray Bridge venue is without doubt one of the best Formula 500 tracks in the country and with a line-up of over 30 cars the racing will be first class.

Drivers to watch throughout the night will include former Sprintcar driver Stephen Bell (Vic), Lisa Walker (SA), Dylan Willsher (Vic), Andrew Priolo (WA), Dale and Ash Sinclair (Vic), Leigh Van Ginneken (Vic), Angelo Karoussis (SA), Matthew Symons (Vic), Scott Dungey (SA) and Terry Rankin (Vic).

The “King of the Bridge” comes hot on the heels of the “Battle of the Border” at Bordertown on Friday night.

The Saturday night program will also include the ground pounding Late Model sedans, Lightning Sprints, AMCA Nationals and Junior Sedans.

The General Public Gates will open on Saturday at 3.30pm with the early racing events beginning at 5.00pm (following 4.30pm wheel packing & support hotlaps) before the main program and Speedcar time trials get underway at 6.00pm. Admission prices have been set at $20 for Adults, $15 for Concession card holders, while children (12 to 15 years) will be $10 with Free admission for 11 years and under.

By Phil Michell - ORIGINAL ARTICLE HERE - thanks to Murray Bridge Speedway