• Alison Dwyer

Speedcars at Speedway City Tonight for AT&RS Club Championship!

The Mighty Midgets make a welcome return to Speedway City, Virginia tonight after a two month hiatus to battle it out in the American Tire & Racing Services Club Championship! With Speedcar Pro Series commitments completed, nine teams will battle it out tonight in their last chance to get some local laps before the 74th Australian Speedcar Championship gets underway at Warrnambool VIC at the end of the month!

American Tire & Racing Services (AT&RS) came on board earlier this season offering a sizeable gift certificate to the winner of the 14/15 Club Champion. Joining other prizes from our generous sponsors including Pickos Photos, SprintcarZone, TheSpeedwayShop.com, TiBolts & Race Partz, State Racing Mag and Zoro Signs; this season's prizepool is the biggest of the last decade!

"We're happy to be a part of the rebuild process in SA" said AT&RS owner Mark Cooper when the prize was announced last year. "We're trying to offer a carrot to local competitors to be on the track and obviously the alliance with SA Speedcars is a good fit for our company".

And it appears to be working! Joining our local hardchargers tonight are two new competitors to the Speedcar class; Wingless Sprint racers Todd Wigzell and Brett Ireland! Wigzell, an ex-Australian Wingless Champion and multi-state champ will step behind the wheel of the Darryl Knuckey S18 DK Fabrications Spike/Esslinger, replacing the unavailable Victorian F500 competitor Dylan Willsher.

Meanwhile Brett Ireland, the 2013 Wingless Rookie of the Year, will be joining Mark Harrington in the Hardwyer Motorsport stable, steering the S35 The Speedway Shop xXx/Fontana campaigned by NSW's Paul Murphy last season. Ireland plans to complete the remainder of the SA Speedcar season with the team whilst also maintaining his heavy Wingless schedule! Both Ireland and Wigzell will perform double duties tonight in both the Speedcars and Wingless Sprints.

Ben Hall will no doubt take charge early tonight coming off the back of a tough SPS campaign! He will be joined by the regular throttlestompers Jamie Crouch, Todd Bennett, Mark Harrington, Nathan Squiers, Norm Moore and recent returnee Graham Knuckey.

Be sure to get trackside tonight at Speedway City - action starts at 6pm!


Photo courtesy of Pickos Photos!

Recent Posts