• Alison Dwyer

Lee Dillon Claims Inaugural Bert Fenton Cup at Speedway City!

After a trying season start, Lee Dillon last night claimed his first feature win of the season and the inaugural Bert Fenton Cup at Speedway City; in the Nulon SA9 Dillon Motorsport Breka/Fontana!

Starting from pole position as top qualifier, Dillon took an early lead in the main event ahead of current American Tire & Racing Services Club Championship pointscore leader Ben Hall and Mark Harrington, both who were tied on points coming into the A-Main.

Dillon was a dominating force on the fast, hooked-up Speedway City surface and remained out of touch of Hall, Harrington and Wingless Sprint Australian Champion Todd Wigzell throughout the A-Main. A great battle was fought further down the pack between Graham Knuckey, Todd Bennett and Jamie Crouch before contact was made and Crouch retired from the event with front end damage.

Final placings saw Dillon take the win from Hall, Harrington and Wigzell with Knuckey rounding out the top five. Heats wins were taken by Dillon and Hall.

This was the inaugural running of the Bert Fenton Cup remembering SA Speedcar Club stalwart Bert 'Scooter' Fenton who passed while living the dream watching Midget racing in America in 2014. Bert's Family were in attendance and presented their own donated trophies on the podium!

To recognise the many competitors who ran the Fenton car over the years, the SA Speedcar Association also announced the naming of the club's annual rookie trophy as the Bert Fenton Rookie of the Year Award, ensuring Bert's name remains in the history books.

The Speedcars next compete in the Easter triple header at Bordertown on April 3rd, the SA Speedcar Title at Murray Bridge Speedway on April 4th and back to Speedway City on April 5th! We hope to see you there.


A-MAIN: 1. S9 Lee Dillon, 2. S71 Ben Hall, 3. S6 Mark Harrington, 4. S18 Todd Wigzell, 5. S11 Graham Knuckey, 6. Todd Bennett, 7. S35 Brett Ireland. DNF - S7 Jamie Crouch.

HEAT ONE: 1. S9 Lee Dillon, 2. S6 Mark Harrington, 3. 17 Todd Bennett, 4. S11 Graham Knuckey, 5. S71 Ben Hall, 6. S7 Jamie Crouch, 7. S18 Todd Wigzell, 8. S35 Brett Ireland.

HEAT TWO: 1. S71 Ben Hall, 2. S7 Jamie Crouch, 3. S6 Mark Harrington, 4. S9 Lee Dillon, 5. S18 Todd Wigzell, 6. S17 Todd Bennett, 7. S35 Brett Ireland. DNS - Graham Knuckey.

Photos courtesy of Stephen Pickering of Pickos Photos