• SA Speedcar Committee

16/17 SA Speedcar Committee Determined!

Last night's SA Speedcar Association Annual General Meeting (AGM) has locked in the new committee for the upcoming 2016-2017 season.


Mark Harrington


Rick McKay


Alison Dwyer


Ben Hall


Rick McKay


Tim Caddy

Brendan Sexton

Stephen Dillon

Roger Munchenburg

John McDougall


David Andrew


President Mark Harrington welcomed the new and returning committee members and volunteers for another successful season. He noted the club had a good 2015/2016 season, which was also our 80th anniversary year in SA. In addition to regular club shows, our season included 2 rounds of the Pro Speedcar Week (PSW) at Whyalla and Murray Bridge (the latter run in conjunction with the annual Tim Crouch Memorial) which included a number of international and interstate competitors; the 66th SA Championship at Whyalla with competitors from across the country; and the Bert Fenton Cup and The Speedway Shop Speedcar Stampede, both hosted by Speedway City.

To boost prizemoney and car numbers, the club reinvested over $9,000 into events at all three venues, including the introduction of the SA Speedcars Blackjack Series, which saw the highest car counts outside of our blue ribbon events and is already in preparation for next season. The bulk of the funding is the result of Speedcars Australia and Speedway Australia grants, plus club fundraising and sponsorship generated over the season.

The Blackjack series included $1,000 shared between the top 3 on points (to be presented at the trophy night on July 9th), and the American Tire & Racing Services (AT&RS) Club Championship also includes over $1,000 in store credits and prizes thanks to club sponsors AT&RS, Ti Bolts & Race Partz, Pickos Photos, The Speedway Shop, Showtime Signs, and McArdle & Sons Transport. Thank you to our sponsors and the teams who have sourced and supported them over the season.

Next season’s preparations are already well underway with dates loaded for 3 venues. We’ll also see the return of the national Speedcar Super Series which hasn’t visited SA for over 7 years; and we’re pleased to be heading back to Mt Gambier for a State of Origin event with the Victorian Speedcar Drivers Association. Watch this space for more exciting announcements on our SA Speedcar calendar!

SA Speedcars are proudly supported by: