• MMS Murray Bridge Speedway

Clarke Simply Super at MMS

Current series leader Adan Clarke strengthened his grip on the 2016/17 Speedcar Super Series last Saturday night at the Murray Machining and Sheds Speedway with victory in round four of the series which also incorporated the 7th running of the Tim Crouch Memorial.

In the early stages of the race Clarke sat back in fourth position but as a brief shower swept across the venue just past the mid race point Clarke made his move to the front sensing that the race could end at any time if the rain continued. Second place went to Victorian stand out Travis Mills with 16-year-old Kaidon Brown, who also won the Super 7’s, finishing third, much to the delight of his Father Mark. Fourth place went the way of Michael Stewart, who was driving the Steve Dillon owned #9, with Ben Hall being the best of the locals in fifth. Grant Paton had a consistent night as he finished sixth ahead of Nathan Smee, who was caught up in a mid-race accident and was sent to the rear, Adam Wallis and Paul Farrell. With only 17 cars fronting for action it was slightly disappointing considering it was such a prestigious race and that field was reduced to 15 prior to time trials, which saw Clarke pace the field with a lap of 13.763. Following time trials the heat winners were Nathan Smee (2), Adam Clarke and Adam Wallis while Kaidon Brown won the Super 7’s trophy before handing the unique trophy, that was a scale model of Tim Crouch’s #7 over to Tim’s young Son Cody, in what was a tremendous gesture.

The V6 Sprints were also contesting a prestigious race as a strong field was on hand for the Des James Memorial. After sitting out the past 12 months Steve Agars returned to the driver’s seat in stunning form as he completed a clean sweep of the evening as he won both heat races before leading all 15 laps in the A-Main. Second across the line was the new South Australian Champion Chris James, who was carrying the #1 on the tail tank for the first time. Veteran Michael Buxallen completed the podium with Glen Ince and John McKenzie rounding out the top five.

In addition to the open wheeled sections the night also included the thundering Late Models and AMCA Nationals. After a tough night of competition, the night before the Late Models were slightly down on numbers but there was still great depth in the line-up with drivers from five Australian states lining up for the Metro Holden Late Model Series. After 20 laps of entertaining sedan racing it was current South Australian Champion Ben Nicastri who claimed the chequered flag ahead of a hard charging and barging Brad Smith with Callum Harper the next across the line. But after the race Brad Smith was relegated two spots therefore Harper was elevated to second with Western Australian Michael Holmes being declared third. Smith would therefore finish fourth with Paul Stubber, Luke Raymond, Fiona Verhoeven and Roger Oliver the only other finishers. Clayton Pyne, who won two heat races earlier, failed to take the green flag in the final.

The AMCA Nationals unfortunately had their feature event cancelled after a major pile up in turn four forced the race to be stopped after Kelsey Allen required medical attention.

The next event at the Murray Machining and Sheds Speedway will be this Saturday night (February 25) with the running of the 2017 South Australian Sprintcar Title with Super Sedans, Modified Sedans and Street Stocks in support. The night will also double as the Ultimate Footy Fan Night so make sure you wear your favourite Footy Club Guernsey.

Recent Posts