• SA Speedcars PR

Smee Snatches SA Speedcar Championship!

New South Welshman Nathan Smee last night claimed his third State Championship win of the 2016-2017 season, taking out the 67th SA Speedcar Championship and Round Five of the national Six Crown Series at Murray Machining & Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway from 16 year old NSW young gun Kaidon Brown , and local SA star Ben Hall.

Western Australian Dayne Kingshott, who is also the reigning WA Champion; was the event's top qualifier with two from two heat wins and held off the challenges of Victorian Travis Mills in the pole shuffle to start from pole position, and claim the $100 top qualifier bonus from TheSpeedwayShop.com! Unfortunately during the form-up laps of the main event, Kingshotts car began to splutter, pulling to the infield with suspected battery issues. When restarting the car resulted in the same outcome, Kingshott retired to the infield before the green.

NSW's Kaidon Brown took the early lead and a spectacular battle began with Brown, Mills and Smee. Laps later, Mills slipped past Brown for the lead and Smee followed suit before Mills considerably slowed eventually bringing on the yellows. Mills was forced to retire with a rear end issue with 19 laps remaining.

Smee lead away at the restart from Brown, Hall, NSW's Michael Stewart and Murray Bridge racer Brett Ireland and continued his dominance on the final all the way to the chequers making him the SA, QLD & VIC Champion in 16/17! Brown came home a strong 2nd, followed by Hall, Stewart, Ireland, Nick Parker, Justin McMinn who was awarded with the American Racer Hardcharger Award having started 14th, Andy Pearce, Joe Lostitch, Clint Leibhardt and Jamie Crouch.

"I have to thank Brett Thomas and his Dad back in QLD - we couldn't do this without them, TFH Hire and Illuminated Industries" noted a pleased Smee from the podium. "A win's a win, but without Dayne out there and then Travis it was a shame, but that's racing. And Kaidon... Well he'd only 16 and he's already got speed".

QLD's Anthony Chaffey and Victorian Dylan Willsher had an unfortunate start to the weekend's action both retiring without qualifying points with engine damage, while SA's longest running Speedcar competitor Norm Moore took a wild tumble in the opening round of heats but was unscathed.

Updated points for the Six Crown Series brought to you by Speedway Australia and Speedcars Australia will be shared by Speedcars Australia shortly!

The Speedcar action continues tonight at Adelaide Motorsport Park for the annual Speedcar Stampede thanks to TheSpeedwayShop.com, this season held in conjunction with the Bert Fenton Cup which was rescheduled from an earlier cancelled event.


1. Q69 Nathan Smee NSW; 2. V97 Kaidon Brown NSW; 3. S71 Ben Hall SA; 4. S9 Michael Stewart NSW; 5. S83 Brett Ireland SA; 6. V39 Nick Parker VIC; 7. V12 Justin McMinn VIC; 8. S6 Andy Pearce VIC; 9. V22 Joe Lostitch VIC; 10. S24 Clint Leibhardt ACT; 11. S7 Jamie Crouch SA; 12. DNF - V26 Justin Paull VIC; 13. DNF - W7 Todd Waddell WA; 14. DNF - S10 Luke Bowey SA; 15. DNF - V10 Travis Mills VIC; 16. DNF - S45 Rory Jackermis SA; 17. DNS - W24 Dayne Kingshott WA; 18. DNS - S4 Norm Moore SA; 19. DNS - V6 Anthony Chaffey QLD; 20. DNS - V64 Dylan Willsher VIC.